Favourite Liners (Felt Tip)

The cat eye/feline flick has been a popular makeup technique since makeup was created. The goal is to give the illusion of a more elongated, wider eye. It is timeless and flattering on every eye shape if executed correctly. The cat eye can be worn simply during the day or paired with a sultry smoky eye. An essential part of the cat eye is the type of liner used to create it. Whether it is a liquid, pencil, or felt tip, the eyeliner makes or breaks the wing.

Personally I prefer a felt tip since I feel like I have more control over the thickness and precision of my winged liner. Although I love using a pencil to create a smokier flick. I wanted to share with you, after years of testing, my favourite felt tip eye liners to create a winged eye liner look! Hope you enjoy!

tipliners2016.jpg

 

tipsliners2016.jpg

All of these liners are jet black and as pigmented as possible. They are all very similar but I wanted to give you guys some variation in style and price point. (warning: none of these liners are waterproof!! just a personal preference)

Firstly I wanted to talk about the TARTE Precision Longwear Liner. It has a longer felt tip and is easy to control. It dries in between matte and shiny so I would say it dries “satin”. The packaging is beautiful, and the formula is super long lasting. This liner is a safe buy if you don’t want to go too expensive but you want to be sure you are getting a good deal.

The L’Oreal 12Hr Infallible the “Super Slim” Liquid Eyeliner is a super good drugstore felt tip eyeliner. It is very similar to the TARTE liner as their tips are identical. Although I noticed that the L’Oreal liner tip dries out more quickly than the Tarte tip. This formula also dries more “wet” in appearance and does not last as long. ALTHOUGH, if you don’t want to break the bank on a felt tip liner, but want something you can trust, I would recommend this one!

Last but definitely not least, the KAT VON D Tattoo Liner in “Trooper”. This liner is amazing. The tip is more of a brush rather than a felt tip, giving you amazing precision. The formula dries more “satin” and once it is on…it does NOT budge. I swear I’ve looked at my winged liner the morning after a night out and not wanted to wash it off. This stuff is incredible. It is the same price as the Tarte liner so if you were choosing between the two, I would probably choose this one.

Anyways, I hope you all have a great weekend!

XO, K

 

2 thoughts on “Favourite Liners (Felt Tip)

Leave a Reply

