Book Favourites Summer 2016

Even though school is out, I can’t keep my hands off books. It is always a bit overwhelming going into a book store if you aren’t sure what you want to read. I find it easiest to read reviews and get suggestions from other people before venturing into a book store. So here are two of the books I am reading this summer! Enjoy!

 

IMG_9076.jpg

The first book is  The High Mountains of Portugal by Yann Martel. If you didn’t already know, Martel is the author of Life of Pi, which was one of my favourite books in 2014 (the movie is also amazing). He takes a lot of ideas and inspiration from Afghani culture and writes adventure stories. They always have a hint of fantasy in them and they are a pleasure to read. This book is about how three separate narratives search for meaning as their stories intertwine. I am very excited to dig into this one.

IMG_9078

The second book is And The Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini. Hosseini is definitely one of my favourite authors with his ability to transport his reader. He is the author of The Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns (both are amazing). His settings are usually in Afghanistan as well and he likes to write about children and peoples lives. This book is about families and how generations are affected through decisions. I am halfway through it and LOVE it already!

What is your favourite book?? 🙂

Follow on instagram: kristenmarie.xo

Caio, K

2 thoughts on “Book Favourites Summer 2016

  1. So far my favourite books of the summer are The Harder They Come by T C Boyle and Stiff by Mary Roach. Both were incredibly absorbing.

    I’m glad to see praise for Yann Martel’s new book. I’ve been curious about it and have now added it to my TBR.

    Like

Leave a Reply

