Its a Journey…

Hello all! School has begun and it is getting colder outside! That means layering up and craving hardy food. Autumn is a romantic time, one of my friends referred to it as “cuddle season”. Trying to keep warm and being busy with school usually means less exercise, and more food! I am blogging about this so that I have to make a commitment to someone other than myself to keep consistent in my workouts and eating habits. So let the rant begin..

IMG_4867.JPG

EXERCISE~! I would say that 85% of the time I am happy to work out. Wether it be going for a run, bike, an at home workout, or a yoga class, sweating makes me happy. (and workout clothing is my favourite) Although I don’t know if this is just me, I will have a few weeks of consistent workouts then they fizzle out. I don’t get bored, I just get lazy. Time to commit and stay consistent because thats when the body really starts to respond. Not only physically, but we definitely benefit mentally and emotionally from working out. The endorphins and what not really make a difference. This will definitely help during the dreary winter months coming up. Doesn’t hurt that clothes fit better too.

Although I feel that usually exercising starts because I am unhappy with my body or I am comparing myself to my friends and not feeling up to par..When really exercising is about how you feel! I feel happier, less stressed, and more confident (and even proud) with myself when I am fit. Instead of making it a negative experience, change that and focus on the positive. Reach a goal, improve fitness, and stuff like that. Because really your friends aren’t thinking “wow she went up a jean size?” do it for yourself because you can’t please everyone.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

 

FOOOOOD~! Honestly, food is the best. If I didn’t want to pursue medicine, I would be a chef. Food can be nostalgic, emotional, therapeutic, social, and delicious. Although moderation is key. Sure, treat yourself and have a cookie after dinner, just stop at one. Recently I have been monitoring my portion sizes (using smaller bowls and plates) because my stomach is starting to catch up with my eyes…and experimenting with healthier recipes for foods I love. I just got over a sweet cravings phase so I found a few healthier dessert options. It’s also amazing what you can substitute into your meals, but still feel the same satisfaction and taste experience. Find foods you love, and really research how good they are for you and if they aren’t, see what you can do to change it.

Being healthy is about LOVING your body, not trying to be something you aren’t.

SORRY FOR THE RANT! I didn’t mean to preach I have just been trying to change my habits and perspective over the last few months and hope to keep learning! Please comment anyone who inspires you to be healthier and any recipes you love!!

Have an amazing week everyone,

xo K

 

Leave a Reply

