Take it off!…

I can be so lazy when it comes to taking my makeup off in the evening. Sometimes I just go straight in with a cleanser and pray that it takes all my makeup off.  For a long time now I have had a love/hate relationship with The Body Shop’s camomile cleansing oil. I love the convenience of a bottle with a pump, it does the job, and the extra step in my routine was not an issue. What I disliked about it was the oil. I felt that it was hard for me to really massage the oil into my face (I’m just picky with my skincare, I know a lot of people love this) and although the oil is quite light, it felt too heavy for my skin. I also felt that it was a bit hard to completely remove the oil residue from my face. Anyways…this is a good product if you love oils in your skincare routine, but its just not my favourite!

Flash forward to the beginning of the month, I popped into The Body Shop and came across the sister product to the cleansing oil…the camomile cleansing butter! I had to give the range a second chance so here are my thoughts…

IMG_4983.JPG.jpeg

Positives:

Firstly I think The Body Shop made a good choice by revamping a lot of their packaging. It really upscales the brand and it is beautiful. The product is small enough to take in your carryon and large enough that it will last me a long time.

The product itself is exactly what I was looking for to add to my evening skincare routine. The balm/oil reminds me of the consistency of coconut oil. It is creamy and smooth and melts instantly on the heat of my skin. Most of all, it is a dream to massage into the face. You feel so much more in control using the solid oil rather than the liquid version, it really makes a difference. The camomile scent of the solid is a bit more subtle than the liquid which is also nice. Since it is made for sensitive skin, I can remove my eye makeup without any discomfort or irritation and it really does a good job at removing my makeup.

How I use it: I take about a 1 tsp size dollop on the tip of my fingers, then I gently begin rubbing this into my skin. I do my entire face then focus on my eyes last. I gently work the oil into my lashes to remove my mascara. Finally, I splash some warm water on my face and continue with my cleanser or whatever products I have decided to use that night.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Negatives:

The downside is that the packaging is a little less sanitary than one with a pump since you re-introduce bacteria to the product every time you use it. Also the product kinda lingers on my eye lids so it takes a teeny bit more effort to remove it in those areas. Other than that I loveeee this stuff! My skin gets very dehydrated in the fall/winter so the thicker oil feels moisturizing and very non-drying.  It is so essential to take that small extra step to completely remove your makeup before bed, my skin has definitely benefited from using this recently.

Thank you for visiting my blog! Find me on instagram: kristenmarie.xo!

xx, K

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

